While the Board of Trustees’ selection of Glenn McConnell as the new College of Charleston president had many questioning the future of the liberal arts school, CofC continues to move forward with improving diversity at the college. Case in point: the Diversity Conference and Celebration: Building Partnerships to Support Youth of Promise on Sat. Oct. 11 and Sun. Oct. 12. Sponsored by the National Association of Holmes Scholars Alumni, the event is a conference on educational improvement and equality for minorities and a celebration of diversity on campus – and diversity overall, featuring music, dance, and artistic performances from different cultures. On Sat. the conference is closed to educators that pre-registered, but on Sunday, the community is invited to the TD Arena (301 Meeting St.) for a celebration of culture.

Sunday begins with a parade lead by the Burke High School Marching Band at 3:30 p.m. and will be followed by art and community demonstrations at 4 p.m. The demonstrations have been crafted to represent the different cultures at CofC and around the community, featuring gospel music, artistic performances, and CofC dancers. “The event is designed to bring people together so they have time to appreciate what others in the community do,” says Meta Van Sickle, CofC education professor and department chair. The main program begins at 5 p.m. and will feature keynote speaker Freeman A. Hrabowski III, the long-time president of the University of Maryland and one of Time magazine’s top 100 influential people in 2012. President Glenn McConnell, Congressman James Clyburn, and Margaret Olmos, chief of staff in the Office for Civil Rights at the Department of Education, will also speak. For more information go to diversityconference.cofc.edu or call (843) 805-5507. 

Stay cool. Support City Paper.

City Paper has been bringing the best news, food, arts, music and event coverage to the Holy City since 1997. Support our continued efforts to highlight the best of Charleston with a one-time donation or become a member of the City Paper Club.