A Fragile Tomorrow’s Dominic Kelly will release a solo album on MPress Records on Fri. April 7. Called Everything is Just Enough, the record is more singer-songwriter/folk than anything AFT has ever done.

“It’s very different from AFT in so many ways, but it’s more reflective of what I listen to. I’m a huge folk fan. My favorite record of all time is Blue by Joni Mitchell, and I also love artists like Phil Ochs and Nick Lowe,” he says.

While making Everything is Just Enough, Kelly was listening to everything from Sprained Ankle by Julien Baker and Cardinal by Pinegrove (which were on repeat) to Solange’s Cranes in the Sky and Noah Gundersen’s latest, Carry the Ghost. Kelly wrote and recorded the album over the course of six months with cameos from artists like Emily Saliers, Chris Trapper, Lucy Wainwright Roche, Doris Muramatsu of Girlyman, Sarah Bettens of K’s Choice, and his brother/bandmate, Sean Kelly. Mark Bryan is also featured on mandolin.

But he’s not leaving A Fragile Tomorrow or anything.

“I decided to do a solo album after going through some tough shit the last half of 2015 and the first half of 2016,” Kelly says. “I felt like I needed to write about a lot of those experiences, so that’s what came out. I had considered doing a solo record for years and years but I had a lot of insecurities and fear hold me back. One day I just basically said ‘fuck it’ and went into the studio with [brother, bandmate] Brendan to start working on it.”

As for the full band, A Fragile Tomorrow is currently working a follow up to 2015’s Make Me Over. “It’s going to be totally different than anything we’ve ever done before,” Kelly says. “I’m pretty obsessed with the direction it’s going. I think it’s going to surprise a lot of people. In the meantime, I’m releasing my record, and Sean is going to release his solo record, which basically is like a lost Bryan Ferry album, and it’s fucking genius.”

Kelly will also join the Indigo Girls on tour this spring. For more info and to pre-order Everything is Just Enough, go to domkellymusic.com.