The Gov. Sanford Playlist, 2009

In the wake of S.C. Gov. Mark Sanford press conference today (Wed. June 24), in which he admitted having been engaged in an extramarital affair with some Argentinian lady (a “dear, dear friend”), the music department compiled a special playlist to commemorate the remarkable news. Enjoy:

“Destination Unknown” — Missing Persons

“Fly by Night” — Rush

“Your Cheatin’ Heart” — Hank Williams

“Babe, I’m Gonna Leave You” — Led Zeppelin

“Born to be Wild” — Steppenwolf

“I’m in Love With The Other Woman” — Ray Parker Jr.

“Leavin’ Here” — The Birds

“Don’t Cheat in Our Hometown” — Ricky Skaggs

“Who’s Cheatin’ Who?” — Alan Jackson

“Tempted” — Squeeze

“Runnin’ with the Devil” — Van Halen

the theme to “Sanford & Son” — Quincy Jones

“Leavin’ on a Jet Plane” — John Denver

“I Can’t Explain” — The Who

“I Get Around” — The Beach Boys

“I’m Hurtin'” — Roy Orbison

“I’m on a Plane” — Nirvana

“Dazed and Confused” — Led Zeppelin

“Destination Unknown” — Missing Persons

“Your Cheatin’ Heart” — Hank Williams

“Argentina” — Clark Terry with Thelonious Monk

“You’ve Got a Habit of Leavin'” — Davy Jones & The Lower Third (see audio sample)