The 10th annual Piccolo Fiction Open is seeking short stories through March 10. The theme for this year’s competition is “present tense,” and the winners will be invited to read their stories at Blue Bicycle Books during the festival. The word limit for stories is 1,000 words, and they can be sent via e-mail to both and with the subject line “2010 PFO Application.” Past PFO winners include Darryl Lorenzo Wellington, Scott Yarbrough, Dot Jackson, Virginia Tormey Friedman, Wesley Moore, Charlie Geer, and City Paper contributer/Blue Bicycle Books owner Jonathan Sanchez. Read previous winning stories at