Charleston singer/guitarist and power-pop expert Frank Royster (of bar-rock cover band The Hed Shop Boys) releases his second solo album this month. Royster recorded the 13-song Innocence Is Bliss — a follow-up to 2006’s 10-song Thru the Years — at Hooverama Studios in Charlotte with engineer Jamie Hoover (of The Spongetones).

Guest performers on the disc include Hoover on guitars, drummer Tommy Hamer, bassist Julian Volpe, and guitarist Todd Mayson.

The album features 12 new originals and a rendition of The Beatles’ "Every Little Thing." Look for it in stores (Monster, 52.5, Purple Music, and Barnes & Noble) this week. Royster and a full backing band perform an official CD release show at Jimbo’s Rock Lounge on Fri. April 16.

Check out the sounds and details at