A few weeks back, the Chucktown hip-hop trio Savage Souls — Kae G the Original Seed and Fortune the Iron Mike Mangler, and DJ Icirus — announced that they were about to embark on an ambitious project: recording 14 new songs over 14 weeks for a new mixtape called Savage Saturday.

So far, the group has released two songs from the forthcoming Savage Saturday mixtape, “Savage Under Pressure” and “Savage Island,” and both are as badass as a burro with a teardrop tat under its right eye and a patch over the other. “Savage Island” is a right-nice, fright-night slice of horrorcore-meets-Sage Francis, while “Savage Under Pressure” is a rapid-fire fury of disco fists. Give ’em
a listen below.