After a dangerous brush with the governor’s veto pen, the S.C. Arts Commission is bouncing back by giving Individual Artist Fellowship Awards to four South Carolina artists that excel in the areas of poetry, prose, playwriting, and acting. Three of the $5,000 awards go to Charlestonians: poet Barbara G. S. Hagerty, playwright Rodney Lee Rogers, and actress Sharon Graci. (No doubt it’s a happy day in the Rogers-Graci household — the co-founders of PURE Theatre are married). The fourth winner is writer Ed Madden of Richland County.

“We’re fortunate to have funds to award this year, thanks to the generous contribution from the South Carolina Arts Foundation, and we’re pleased to offer those resources to our artist fellows who can use them to advance their careers,” Ken May, S.C. Arts Commission executive director, said in a release.

Fellowships are based on recommendations made by out-of-state review panelists. This year, they included poet Alan Shapiro, author Martha Southgate, playwright Tracy Nichols, and Hal Partlow and Kim Leavitt.