The filing period for Charleston municipal offices ended Monday, so here’s the finalized list of candidates for mayor and City Council seats. Candidates listed with an asterisk next to their name are incumbents.


• Ginny Deerin

• William Dudley Gregorie

• Toby Smith

• Leon Stavrinakis

• John Tecklenburg

• Paul Tinkler

• Maurice Washington

City Council District 1:

• Shawn Pinkston

• Gary White*

City Council District 3:

• Jimmy Bailey

• James Lewis Jr.*

• Luqman S. Rasheed

City Council District 5:

• Brian Byrd

• Marvin D. Wagner*

City Council District 7:

• Joe Johnston

• Keith Waring*

City Council District 9:

• Aubry Alexander*

• Peter Shahid

City Council District 11:

• Chris Cannon

• Bill Moody*

David E. Rivers is running unopposed for Commissioner of Public Works.

The mayoral candidate list puts to rest years’ worth of speculation about people who might be considering a run to replace Mayor Joseph P. Riley Jr., who is stepping down after four decades in office. City Council members Aubry Alexander and Mike Seekings had previously said they were considering entering the race.

Election Day is Nov. 3. Be sure to check the City Paper every Wednesday for another installment of our After Riley series, which gives the mayoral candidates a chance to weigh in on one question at a time. The series will culminate in a forum put on in partnership with Lowcountry Local First, Preservation Society of Charleston, S.C. Community Loan Fund, Coastal Conservation League, and The forum will take place Wed. Sept. 30 at 5:30 p.m. at the Charleston Music Hall (37 John St.). Admission is free, but registration is requested at

Stay cool. Support City Paper.

City Paper has been bringing the best news, food, arts, music and event coverage to the Holy City since 1997. Support our continued efforts to highlight the best of Charleston with a one-time donation or become a member of the City Paper Club.