After the jam-packed Nov. 5 election left a couple runoffs to be held on Tuesday, Charlestonians cast votes to re-elect the mayor and unseat a long-sitting councilman.

With 20,436 total ballots cast for the Charleston mayoral runoff election, Mayor John Tecklenburg was reelected, receiving 61.18 percent of votes. During the Nov. 5 election, Tecklenburg got 47.83 percent, just shy of the needed majority.

In a narrower runoff for City Council District 3, Jason Sakran won the seat with 50.64 percent of the votes over incumbent James Lewis, taking the victory by only 25 of 1,949 total ballots cast.

Sakran joins a list of city council newcomers elected this month, along with: District 1’s Marie Delcioppo, District 5’s Karl Brady, and District 11’s Ross Appel. Councilmen Keith Waring and Peter Shahid were also reelected.

Local election officials will certify the runoff results later this week.

Stay cool. Support City Paper.

City Paper has been bringing the best news, food, arts, music and event coverage to the Holy City since 1997. Support our continued efforts to highlight the best of Charleston with a one-time donation or become a member of the City Paper Club.