Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

The future of public education is on the ballot next week. It’s not all that obvious because of paltry media coverage, but if South Carolinians pick a huge fan of using public dollars for private schools who conveniently got a required master’s degree in a six-month rush, public education will suffer. That’s why we urge you — if you have no other race that you’re passionate about — to vote for teacher Lisa Ellis, a Democrat, to be the next state superintendent of education. We owe it to our children for a teacher, not a conservative policy ideologue, to guide public education for the next four years.

Overall this year, we endorsed Ellis and 23 other candidates in contested races over the last few weeks. Check out the full endorsements here.

Regardless of whether you pay attention to our recommendations, we urge you to get to the polls and vote so you can maintain your most precious right as a citizen — voting in our representative democracy. Our endorsements:

Contested federal races

U.S. Congress, 1st District: Dr. Annie Andrews.
U.S. Congress, 6th District: Jim Clyburn.
We did not endorse in the U.S. Senate contest.

Contested Statewide seats

Governor/lieutenant governor:  Joe Cunningham and Tally Parham Casey.
State superintendent of education: Lisa Ellis.
We did not endorse in contested races for S.C. attorney general, S.C. commissioner of agriculture, S.C. secretary of state and state treasurer.

Contested S.C. House seats

District 15 (North Area): J.A. Moore.  
District 80 (East Cooper): Donna Brown Newton.
District 94 (North Area): Ilene Davis.
District 109 (North Area): Deon Tedder.
District 110 (Charleston): Ellis Roberts.
District 112 (East Cooper): David Artushin.
District 114 (West Ashley): Michelle Brandt.
District 115 (James Island to Rockville): Spencer Wetmore.
Districts 116, 119: No endorsement.

Contested Charleston County races

Probate Judge: Irv Condon. 
Register of Deeds: Karen Hollings. 
County Council, District 8 (Ravenel-Johns Island): Joe Boykin.
County Council, District 9 (James-Folly-Kiawah islands): Julie Hallman.

Charleston County School District Board of Trustees

In races that have become needlessly nasty with an infusion of dark money, all nine seats are up for grabs. With only two incumbents running for reelection, it’s clear the new school board will be drastically different. Read our full endorsement editorial online.

District 1 (Mount Pleasant): Doyle Costello. 
District 2 (East Cooper): Sarah Shad Johnson.
District 3 (Charleston-Mount Pleasant): Pam McKinney.
District 4 (Charleston-North Charleston): Courtney Waters.
District 5 (West Ashley-North Charleston): No endorsement.
District 6 (West Ashley): Lee Runyon.
District 7 (West Ashley): Jen Mieras.
District 8 (Ravenel-Johns Island): Darlene Dunmeyer.
District 9 (James-Folly-Kiawah islands): Carol Tempel.

Stay cool. Support City Paper.

City Paper has been bringing the best news, food, arts, music and event coverage to the Holy City since 1997. Support our continued efforts to highlight the best of Charleston with a one-time donation or become a member of the City Paper Club.