After months of campaigning and about $1.3 million in reported expenditures since August, the race for the next mayor of Charleston may come down to today.

For the city’s next leader and the first new mayor in 40 years, voters have their pick from Ginny Deerin, William Dudley Gregorie, Toby Smith, Leon Stavrinakis, John Tecklenburg, and Maurice Washington. In the likely event that no candidate wins by a simple majority, a runoff election will be held Nov. 17 between the top candidates.

The North Charleston mayoral race comes down to four candidates: Chris Collins, John Singletary, Clifford Smith, and incumbent Keith Summey. 

Six seats on Charleston City Council are up for grabs in districts 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, and 11, and all representatives for North Charleston City Council will be decided in this election.

To find the location of your polling place, visit the S.C. Election Commission website. Polls open at 7 a.m. across the city, and residents can cast their votes until 7 p.m. Preliminary results will be posted online after polls close.

Click here to see the City Paper’s complete election guide, including endorsements for Charleston mayor, North Charleston mayor, and Charleston City Council.

Stay cool. Support City Paper.

City Paper has been bringing the best news, food, arts, music and event coverage to the Holy City since 1997. Support our continued efforts to highlight the best of Charleston with a one-time donation or become a member of the City Paper Club.