We sent short questionnaires to candidates for local office, state legislature, and Congress, endorsing a candidate in each race from those who returned our survey. Read the surveys in their entirety in the News section at charlestoncitypaper.com.


President, Vice President of the United States 
Joe Biden, Kamala Harris

U.S. Senate 
Jaime Harrison

U.S. House of Representatives
1st Congressional District  Joe Cunningham
6th Congressional District  James Clyburn

South Carolina General Assembly

South Carolina House of Representatives
District 15  JA Moore
District 94  No Endorsement
District 99  Jen Gibson
District 109  Deon Tedder
District 110  William Cogswell
District 111  Wendell Gilliard
District 112  Daniel Brownstein
District 114  Ed Sutton
District 115  Spencer Wetmore
District 116  No Endorsement
District 117  Krystle Matthews
District 119  No Endorsement

South Carolina Senate

District 34  Emily Cegledy
District 37  Larry Grooms
District 38  No Endorsement
District 41  Sam Skardon
District 43  Richard Hricik
District 44  No Endorsement
District 45  No Endorsement

Charleston County

Kristin Graziano

Ben Pogue

Clerk of Court
Julie Armstrong

Bobbi Jo O’Neal

Charleston County Council

District 3
Rob Wehrman

District 6
Kylon Middleton

District 7
Sean Thornton

Charleston County School Board

North Area (pick two)
Charles Monteith, Courtney Waters

Downtown (pick one)
Lee Bennett

West Ashley, Islands (pick two)
Chris Fraser, Francis Marion Beylotte

Other Questions

1 percent sales tax extension to fund school improvements  Yes

Property tax increase for housing trust fund  Yes

Issue bonds to borrow housing trust fund money  No

In-person absentee voting continues through Nov. 2. Election day is Nov. 3. Visit scvotes.gov for your sample ballot and charlestoncounty.org for absentee voting info. 

Love Best of Charleston?

Help the Charleston City Paper keep Best of Charleston going every year with a donation. Or sign up to become a member of the Charleston City Paper club.