Here is a list of candidates on Charleston County ballots in the Nov. 8 general election.  Other than congressional and statewide candidates, each person in a contested race received a City Paper survey to complete to qualify for an endorsement.  

  • Those endorsed by the City Paper are indicated with a check mark (✅). 
  • Those who did not complete the survey are marked “Did not respond,” or DNR.
  • To read the answers for each candidate who completed the survey, click on the embedded link for their name.
  • Charleston County school board candidates are at the bottom of the list. Click here to go quickly to that section.

Federal candidates

1st Congressional District

6th Congressional District

Statewide candidates

Governor/Lieutenant Governor

  • Joe Cunningham/Tally Parham Casey (endorsement editorial)
  • Henry McMaster/Pamela Evette
  • Bruce Reeves/Jessica Ethridge

Secretary of State

  • Rosamounda Peggy Butler
  • Mark Hammond

State Commissioner of Agriculture

  • David Edmond
  • Chris Nelums
  • Hugh Weathers

State Superintendent of Education

State Treasurer

  • Curtis Loftis
  • Sarah E. Work

S.C. House candidates

House District 15

House District 80

House District 94

House District 108

  • Lee Hewitt (no challenger)

House District 109

House District 110

House District 111

  • Wendell Gilliard (no opposition)

House District 112

House District 113

  • Marvin R. Pendarvis (no opposition)

House District 114

House District 115

House District 116
(no endorsement)

  • Matt Leber (DNR)
  • Chardale Murray (DNR)

House District 119
(no endorsement)

Charleston County candidates

Probate Judge

Register of Deeds

County Council District 8

County Council District 9

Charleston County School Board of Trustees

School Board, District 1 (Mount Pleasant)

School Board, District 2 (East Cooper)

School Board, District 3 (Charleston-Mount Pleasant)

School Board, District 4 (Charleston-North Charleston)

School Board, District 5 (West Ashley-North Charleston)
(no endorsement)

  • Charlotte M. Bailey (DNR)
  • Melissa Couture (DNR)
  • Vivian Sheppard Pettigrew (DNR)

School Board, District 6 (West Ashley)

School Board, District 7 (West Ashley)

School Board, District 8 (Ravenel-Johns Island)

School Board, District 9 (James-Folly-Kiawah islands)

NOTE: County Council incumbents Herb Sass (District 1) and Teddie Pryor (District 5) and newcomer Larry Kobrovsky (District 3) have no challengers.

Stay cool. Support City Paper.

City Paper has been bringing the best news, food, arts, music and event coverage to the Holy City since 1997. Support our continued efforts to highlight the best of Charleston with a one-time donation or become a member of the City Paper Club.